Three School of Education Students Named 2024-2025 Remembrance Scholars

Three Syracuse University School of Education students are among 35 chosen as 2024-2025 Syracuse University Remembrance Scholars.

  • Headshots of three SOE Remembrance Scholars: Mason Garbus, Mason Romero, and Josh Spodek
    (L to R) Mason Romero ’24, Josh Spodek ’25, and Mason Garbus ’24.

    Mason Garbus of Hannibal, NY, is a music education major in the College of Visual and Performing Arts (VPA) and the School of Education (SOE).

  • Mason Romero of Olathe, KS, is a music education major in VPA and SOE; a music history and cultures major in the College of Arts and Sciences (A&S); and a member of the Renée Crown Honors Program.
  • Joshua Spodek of Wayne, NJ, is a history major in the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs and A&S; a social studies education major in the Maxwell School and SOE; and a member of the Renée Crown Honors Program.

The scholarships, now in their 35th year, were founded as a tribute to—and means of remembering—the students studying in London and Florence through Syracuse University who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland.

Those students were among the 270 people who perished in the bombing. The scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents, and corporations.

Significant support for the Remembrance Scholarships has been provided by Jean Thompson ’66 and Syracuse University Life Trustee Richard L. Thompson G’67 in memory of Jean Taylor Phelan Terry ’43 and John F. Phelan, Jean Thompson’s parents; by Board of Trustees Chairman Emeritus Steven Barnes ’82 and Deborah Barnes; by The Syracuse Association of Zeta Psi in memory of Alexander Lowenstein; and by the Fred L. Emerson Foundation.

Read the full story.