Menu

Academic Departments

The School of Education’s seven academic departments house academic programs, faculty research projects, and collaborative partnerships.

Counseling & Human Services

Derek Seward, Associate Professor; Chair of Counseling and Human Services
dxseward@syr.edu|315.443.9623
Derek Seward
Sindy Pitts, Secretary / Office Coordinator
skpitts@syr.edu|315.443.2266

Cultural Foundations of Education

Barbara Applebaum, Chair of Cultural Foundations of Education; Professor
bappleba@syr.edu|315.443.3702
Barbara Applebaum
Maryann Barker, Office Coordinator
mabarker@syr.edu|315.443.3343
Maryann Barker

Exercise Science

Tom Brutsaert, Professor
tdbrutsa@syr.edu|315.443.9697
Tom Brutsaert
Donna Fecteau, Administrative Assistant
defectea@syr.edu|315.443.9696
Donna Fecteau

Higher Education

Dawn Johnson, Chair of Higher Education; Associate Professor
drjohn02@syr.edu|315.443.3130
Dawn Johnson
Lisa Battalino, Office Coordinator
lbattali@syr.edu|315-443-4763

Instructional Design, Development & Evaluation

Jing Lei, Chair of IDD&E; Professor
jlei@syr.edu|315.443.1362
Jing Lei
Rebecca Pettit, Office Coordinator
rrpettit@syr.edu|315.443.3703

Reading & Language Arts

Marcelle Haddix, Chair of Reading and Language Arts; Dean's Professor
mhaddix@syr.edu|315.443.7642
Marcelle Haddix
Cleopatra Benitez, Office Coordinator
clbenite@syr.edu|315.443.4755
Cleopatra Benitez

Teaching & Leadership

Benjamin Dotger, Professor; Chair of Teaching & Leadership
bdotger@syr.edu|315.443.1937
Benjamin Dotger
Jeanne Schmidt, Assistant to T&L Department Chair
jmschmid@syr.edu|315.443.1468
Jeanne Schmidt
Michelle Mondo, Office Coordinator; Extended Campus Coordinator
mrmondo@syr.edu|315.443.2685
Michelle Mondo
Holley Musak, Office Coordinator
hamusak@syr.edu|315.443.9659

Rows of seated students at School of Education graduation