Hamilton, Washburn Named 2019-20 Remembrance Scholars

Two members of the School of Education community were named 2019-20 Syracuse University Remembrance Scholars. The scholarships were founded as a tribute to—and means of remembering—the 35 students who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. Those students, who were returning from a semester of study in London and Florence, were among the 270 people who perished in the bombing.

Remembrance Scholars are chosen in their junior year through a rigorous, competitive process. Applicants submitted an essay and another response in multimedia, artistic, musical or written format as part of a comprehensive application, and finalists were interviewed by members of the selection committee, composed of University faculty, staff and current Remembrance Scholars.

“This year’s Remembrance Scholars are an extraordinary group of Syracuse University’s outstanding rising seniors,” says Lawrence Mason, Jr., professor of visual communications in the Newhouse School and chair of the Remembrance Scholar Selection Committee. “They demonstrate excellence in scholarship, representing a wide diversity of academic interests, and come to Syracuse University from both local and global locations. As Remembrance Scholars, they are bound together through their lifelong commitment to serving others. We are excited to work with this wonderful group in the coming academic year.”

The scholars will be recognized during a convocation in Hendricks Chapel on Friday, Oct. 25.

The 2019-20 Remembrance Scholars include:

  • Cleo Hamilton of Syracuse, a sport management major in the Falk College and InclusiveU student
  • Mary Kate Washburn of Syracuse, a health and exercise science major in the School of Education

University Announces 2019-20 Remembrance Scholars