2018-19 Remembrance Scholars Include Three School of Education Students

Syracuse University’s Remembrance Scholar Selection Committee has chosen the 35 students who will be the 2018-19 Remembrance Scholars.

The scholarships were founded as a tribute to—and means of remembering—the 35 students who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. The students, who were returning from a semester of study in London and Florence, were among the 270 people who perished in the bombing. The scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents and corporations.

Significant support for the Remembrance Scholarships has been provided by C. Jean Thompson ’66 and Syracuse University Board of Trustees Chairman Emeritus Richard L. Thompson G’67 in memory of Jean Taylor Phelan Terry ’43 and John F. Phelan, Jean Thompson’s parents; Syracuse University Board of Trustees Chairman Steven Barnes ’82 and Deborah Barnes; and by the Fred L. Emerson Foundation.

Selection Process
Remembrance Scholars are chosen in their junior year through a rigorous, competitive process. Applicants write three essays as part of a comprehensive application, and finalists are interviewed by members of the selection committee, composed of University faculty, staff and current Remembrance Scholars. The $5,000 scholarships are awarded on the basis of distinguished academic achievement, citizenship and service to the community. More than half of the new scholars are members of the distinguished Renée Crown University Honors Program.

“The Remembrance Scholars are a wonderful, eclectic mix of all that’s great on the Syracuse University campus,” says Pamela Brandes, associate professor in the Whitman School of Management and chair of the Remembrance Scholar Selection Committee. “We look forward to seeing how they blend their creativity and talents in memory of those lost, not only during Remembrance Week, but also throughout the year.”

The scholars will be recognized during a convocation in Hendricks Chapel on Friday, Nov. 2.

Additionally, the 2018-19 Lockerbie Scholars, Harriet Graham and Joseph Holland, were recently selected. Each year, two students from Lockerbie come to Syracuse for a year of study through the Syracuse-Lockerbie Scholarships, jointly funded by Syracuse University and the Lockerbie Trust.

The 2018-19 Remembrance Scholars from the School of Education are:

  • Katie Berrell of Long Lake, Minnesota, an inclusive elementary and special education major in the School of Education and member of the Renée Crown University Honors Program.
  • Idris Mohamed of Coon Rapids, Minnesota, a health and exercise science major in the School of Education.
  • Brianna Stahrr of Syracuse. New York, an English and textual studies major in the College of Arts and Sciences and an English education major in Arts and Sciences and the School of Education.

View the list of all 2018-19 Remembrance Scholars